RTE ConTempo String Quartet New Commission 2022


Music for Galway and Cúirt Literary Festival, Ireland have commissioned a string quartet from Ailís Ní Ríain to be premiered by Ireland’s leading quartet RTE ConTempo Quartet in April 2022.

The 25 minute work is inspired by the poem ‘Wait’ by the American poet Galway Kinnell.

“Wait, for now.
Distrust everything if you have to.
But trust the hours. Haven’t they
carried you everywhere, up to now?”

Supported by the Irish Arts Council Commission Award

Cúirt Festival

Music for Galway